Commonwealth Day was previously named as Empire Day, as a celebration of the birth of Queen Victoria after 1916. 

In the year 1916, Lord Meath extended the celebration of Empire Day to all the countries of the Commonwealth. 

The Commonwealth consists of 53 nations, including the coloniser Britain, plus 15 of its overseas territories. Sixteen of these states recognise the Queen as their monarch. 

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is Head of the Commonwealth. Her role is an important symbolic one. 

Commonwealth Day is an annual celebration observed by people all over tcommonwealth dayhe Commonwealth in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and Americas, the Pacific and Europe.

Commonwealth Day’s significance is of "being a symbol of unity of feeling 

This year the theme for Commonwealth Day is: Delivering a Common Future. 

In some parts of the Commonwealth the day is a public holiday, but it is not currently a public holiday in Britain. 

Want to know about other important days?